Skip to content

Scream

24/07/2011

'Skrik' by Edvard Munch (courtesy of Commons Wiki)

In his diary entry of 22.01.1893 (written in Nice), Edvard Munch described the emotional genesis of his most famous painting, Der Schrei der Natur (commonly known as The Scream):
I was walking along a path with two friends – the sun was setting – suddenly the sky turned blood red – I paused, feeling exhausted, and leaned on the fence – there was blood and tongues of fire above the blue-black fjord and the city – my friends walked on, and I stood there trembling with anxiety – and I sensed an infinite scream through nature.
Here his words are set to music and hauntingly sung by celebrated Norwegian singer, Kari Bremnes.

Inadequately, I add to these powerful artistic testimonials my thoughts and prayers for, to and with the people of Norway.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

